Skip to main content

Annotated Bibliographies: Welcome

This guide provides tips on writing annotated bibliographies.

Finding Books

Montreat College Library Catalog




WorldCat
WorldCat is universal in subject scope and includes records for over 95 million items held in thousands of libraries throughout the United States and Europe.

Citation Manuals and Style Guides

 

Citation Manuals

Style manuals are on reserve in the library for student use. 

American Psychological Association. Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2010. Call number R 029.6 Am35p6

 

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. New York: Modern Language Association, 2009. Call number R 029.6 G35n7

 

Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 7th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007. Call number R029.6 T84m7

 

 

Purdue Online Writing Lab           

This link provides questions and answers about plagiarism and how to avoid it.

What is an annotation?

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a descriptive and evaluative list of citations for books, articles, or other documents and electronic sources on a particular topic. Each citation is followed by a brief paragraph, the annotation. This annotation includes descriptive and evaluative comments assessing the nature and value of the cited works. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, objectivity, and quality of the sources cited.

Elements of an Annotation

Elements of an Annotation

Always follow your instructor's directions if you are writing an annotated bibliography for a class. Annotations can vary in length from a few sentences to a paragraph of about 150 words. Use the standard documentation style, such as MLA, APA, Chicago or Turabians, most often used in your field to write and arrange the bibliography.

Depending on your assignment , annotations may include many of these elements:

  • Main purpose and scope of the cited work
  • Intended audience of the work
  • Author's credentials for writing the work
  • How does the work contribute to your research topic
  • Possible bias or weakness in the work
  • Theoretical basis, underlying assumptions, or research methodology used by the author
  • Comparison with other works on the topic
  • Conclusions or observations made by the author

Annotations and Abstracts

What is the difference between an annotation and an abstract?

Abstracts are descriptive summaries of scholarly publications. They are often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles. The main difference between an annotation and an abstract or summary is the evaluative component of an annotation. Annotations include a concise summary as well as some evaluation of each of your sources.