Skip to main content

Virginia Buchanan Archives Room: Home

The Montreat College Archives Room was dedicated in honor of Virginia Buchanan on July 11, 2008. Miss Buchanan served as college librarian from 1951 until 1972.

Virginia Buchanan Archives


The Montreat College Archives Room was dedicated in honor of Virginia Buchanan on July 11, 2008. Miss Buchanan served as college librarian from 1951 until 1972. She later served the college in administrative positions and is now among the Faculty Emeriti of Montreat College. It was under her leadership that the L. Nelson Bell Library building became a reality in 1972. Through her vision, the college library expanded its services and resources and attained library standards required by the regional accrediting association.

The dedication of the archives room recognized Miss Buchanan’s continued contributions to Montreat College, her record of achievement through the years, and her ongoing commitment to the values of Christian higher education. Friends of the Library President Nancy Hope presided at the ceremony. Program participants included Andy Andrews representing the Board of Trustees, Dan Struble, President of Montreat College, Silas Vaughn, President Emeritus, and John Newton, Emeritus Professor. Tony Horning, Chair of the Education Department, provided harp music for the program and the reception. Following the unveiling of the archives room sign and the ribbon-cutting, the overflow crowd enjoyed viewing the room and exhibits on Virginia’s career as well as a reception.

 

Left: President Struble and Virginia Buchanan

The Viriginia Buchanan Archives Room
The Virginia Buchanan Archives Room


The Virginia Buchanan Archvies Room
Ribbon Cutting with President Struble, Mrs Buchanan, and Andy Andrews
Unveiling of the Sign
Some of the attendees at the Dedication